Corpus Christi School is located in the Western suburbs of Melbourne, on Wadawurrung land. Corpus Christi Primary School was established in 1985 in response to an increasing demand for Catholic education in Werribee and to relieve pressure on the parish school of St Andrew’s. It became the third of the six current primary schools in the Parish.

The school was situated on the site that was formerly part of the Corpus Christi Seminary, hence the name. However, prior to the Parish purchasing the site, the land was used for farming and market gardening and the pioneer students were often referred to by some as the “Cabbage Patch Kids”.

Due to the enormous efforts of parents and staff, the rather barren landscape quickly gave way to the beautiful gardens and play areas, interspersed by a great variety of trees and bushes, giving the school a wonderful and tranquil environment that is enjoyed by all today.

The school grew slowly but surely until it reached its current size of over 400 children. The Sisters of St Joseph established the school through the wonderful leadership of Sr Colleen O’Dwyer.  Sr Yvonne Harte was the last Principal prior to the handing over of the school to the laity in 1993.  Mrs Patricia Rogers was the first lay Principal of the school from 1993 to 1999. She was followed by Mrs Carolyn Kelly, and our current Principal, Ms Linda Roynic.

In 2005, Corpus Christi welcomed most students from St Mary’s Primary School in Werribee South, after it was closed. The school is a diverse community of new and ‘old’ Werribee families and welcomes students from a diverse range of backgrounds.

  • Year opened: 1985
  • Officially opened by: Hon. Barry Jones MP (Blessed by the Auxiliary Bishop of Melbourne, Most Rev. Joseph O’Connell)
  • The first Parish Priest: Fr Michael Nolan
  • The first Principal: Sr Colleen O’Dwyer
  • Initial number of Students: 140
  • Religious Order: Sisters of St Joseph (1985 – 1992)